Unitarian Universalist Congregation of Rockville, Maryland

Home » Connect » Get to Know Us » Lay Leadership

Lay Leadership

UUCR's Board of Trustees, Lay Ministry Council, and many committees, teams, and groups are comprised of dedicated, hard-working volunteers who devote their time and talents to care for the congregation and support its mission and ministry. Click on the links below to learn more about our lay leadership.

Board of Trustees

Lay Ministry Council

You will find UUCR's governing documents by clicking here.

You will find important policies, procedures, and guidelines by clicking here.

UUCR Strategic Planning Documents

UUCR Committees, Teams, and Groups

Contact information for all of the lay leaders listed below may be found in the UUCR Directory. Please report any changes or errors to Adrian Graham, Director of Communications & Membership, at agraham@uucr.org



Board & Congregation Chartered Committees

Elsa Powell, Board Chair

Committee on Ministry

Cita Furlani

Personnel Committee

Bill Hurlbut

Investment Committee

Steve Reed


Mark Shannon, Lay Minister (LM)

Stewardship Committee


Canvass Committee

Colleen Dolack

Finance Committee

Bill Newhouse

Planned Giving Committee

Sharrill Dittmann

Rental Committee

Norman Rave

Lay Ministry Council

Terrie Barr and Mark Shannon

Congregation Chartered Committees

Elsa Powell, Board Chair

Nominating Committee

Antonio Carrillo

Operations and Governance

Mary Carvajal, Board Chair

Leadership Development & Recruitment Plan Team

Bonnie Bloomquist, Sherry Dittmann, Terrie Barr, Fran Lowe, Lay Ministers and contacts

Buildings & Grounds Program Area

Lay Minister - Vacant

Aesthetics Committee

Liliane Blom, Sharrill Dittmann

Buildings & Grounds Committee

Narcy Klag

Information Technology Committee

Bill Newhouse

Power Tool Gang

Narcy Klag, Dan Pierce

Gardeners & Weeders

Sue Hedges, Mary Lanigan

Landscape Committee

Irene Eckstrand

Fellowship & Hospitality Program Area

Julie Robinson, Lay Minister

Craft Group


Dinners for 8

Karla Timmons


April Pulvirenti and Jon Landenburger


Louise Friedenberg, Jo Wilson

UUCR Book Club

Jo Wilson

Literary Fiction Book Club

Marialyce Sherr

Young Adults Group

Liz Hedges and Sean Hickey


Faith Formation Program Area


Adult Faith Formation Committee

John Dunbar, contact; Bruce Baskett, Lay Minister

Children & Youth Religious Education Committee

Carla Miller, Director of Religious Education, Eric Strong, Lay Minister

Membership & Communications Program Area

Marie Vivas, Lay Minister

Denominational Connections

Eric Burch

Newcomer Classes

Adrian Graham, Director of Communications & Membership


Adrian Graham, Director of Communications & Membership

Quest Newsletter




Social Justice Program Area

Ethel Gilbert, Lay Minister

Partner Church Committee

Louise Friedenberg

Social Justice Committee

Sean McCarthy and Betsy Wilder

Beacon House


Community Reach of Montgomery Cty

Betsy Wilder

Environmental Action Group

Alex TuckerGreen matted Easter Egg

Hunger Relief Task Group

Dolores Barnes

Immigration Action Group

Gayle Boyd

Interfaith Works (IFW)

Kay Newhouse

IFW Women’s Shelter Meals

Kay Newhouse

LGBTQ Task Group


Peace Study Group

Steven Lapham

Racial Justice Working Group

Fran Lowe, Marie Reed, Julie Robinson

Rainbow Youth Alliance

Stephanie Kreps

Unitarian Universalist Legislative Ministry of Maryland

Jack Taylor

Unitarian Universalist Service Committee


UUs for Social Justice

Sean McCarthy

            Partner Plate Program


Ethel Gilbert

Spiritual & Caring Program Area

Bonnie Bloomquist, and Kent Hancock, Lay Ministers

Pastoral Care Team

Jane Klag, co-chair

Small Ministry Groups

Rev. Rebekah Savage and Bonnie Bloomquist

Spirit of Life Sangha

Liliane Floge, Bob Campbell, Ethel Gilbert

Women's Open Spiritual Connection Group

Sahar Dawisha, Diane Baillie, Julie Robinson

Worship & Music Program Area

Cynthia Shires-Thurston, Lay Minister

Adult Choir, Unisons (youth ensemble) & Children’s Choir

Sarah Jebian, Director of Music

Sonaria (women's ensemble)

Cynthia Shires-Thurston

Worship Arts Team

Jim Blue

Music Committee

Bronson Hoover

Sound Committee

Mike Holmes


Jose Clemente

Wheel of the Year - Spring, Summer, Fall and Winter Solstice/Equinox

Lisa Reed

Decorations Committee

Emily Untermeyer

Updated September 2019

  • lifelong spiritual discovery
  • beloved community
  • a just world